penguin
penguin<

Claude in the City

  • Author
    Alex T Smith
  • ISBN
    0340998997
  • Publisher
    Hodder
  • Share this:

Claude is a small, plump dog who wears a beret and a lovely red jumper. He lives with Mr and Mrs Shinyshoes and his best friend, Sir Bobblysock (who is both a sock, and quite bobbly – and smells faintly of cheese). Alex T Smith presents his hero’s adventures with wit, charm and a surreal sense of humour (not to mention a daring dash of naughtiness), as the curious hound foils an art thief at the museum, and cures a group of wrestlers suffering from an outbreak of severe eleven-o’clock-itis whilst accidentally posing as a doctor. Fans of Goscinny and Sempe will find definite echoes of their work in both the comedy and the illustrations – nonetheless, this is a fresh and original book, and a joy to read, especially aloud.